Jewel Writes

Taking my writing to the next level.


Saturday April 13, 2024

Hello!

I hope you found some time to be creative. I haven’t. This blog seems to be the most writing I’m doing at this point, except for my journal.

So, as you know, I’m not writing. I’m not revising. I’m taking a break from the writing world and refilling my well, as the saying goes. The most important thing I’m not doing is beating myself up about this.

Years ago, I listened to a podcast that was talking about seasons and how we go through seasons of high work, and seasons of rest. I’m in a rest period. I wrote two books last year and spent ten weeks trying to revise it. Rest is good.

So, for me, rest means researching witchcraft. I think it’s going to be the next novel, but I haven’t figured out a story to go with it yet. There is a character in my two books that’s a medium and witch. I don’t know if I’m going to do a story from her point of view or with a whole new character. But the research is fun.

I’m just going to go with the flow. I’m reading and listening to podcasts. Writing in my journal. There isn’t a lot of t.v. watching because I hate commercials and there isn’t anything that interests me. I remember days when the tv was the background music of my life.

Well, that’s my musings for the week. I hope you are accepting of whatever season you are in and are just happy to be.

Have a great week, either way.

Jewel

“No winter lasts forever; no spring skips its turn” – Hal Borland



2 responses to “Saturday April 13, 2024”

  1. As long as you keep your eyes and ears open you’re still working. You’re gathering. It’s just not on paper.

    Like

  2. Thank you. I think you are right.

    Like

Leave a comment

About Me

I am an Educational Assistant by day and a writer during my off hours. I have many uncompleted “trunk” novels stashed in my home and on my laptop. My goal is to find an agent by the year 2028.